The British Museum Trustees

Philipp Hildebrand has been appointed by the Prime Minister as Trustee of the British Museum for a term of four years, commencing 1 August 2019. 

Appointing the Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees comprises up to 25 members. One Trustee is appointed by Her Majesty, 15 are appointed by the Prime Minister and five appointed by the Trustees themselves. The remaining four Trustees are appointed by the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport on the nominations of the Presidents of:

  • the Royal Academy
  • the British Academy
  • the Society of Antiquaries of London
  • the Royal Society

The Chairman is appointed by the Board from amongst its members.

The full Board of Trustees meets four times a year usually at the British Museum.

Read more about becoming a Trustee 

Register of Trustees' interests

The Register of Trustees' interests is open to the public and may be consulted by contacting
Museum Directorate.

Detail of the Great Court

Minutes of the Board of Trustees

The Trustee Board meets quarterly to consider issues of strategic significance and to review progress against the Museum's Plan. The minutes of Board meetings will be posted here after they have been approved by the Trustees.